sdq > slc: three planes, two trains, and three automobiles

Sorry about the title. Unoriginal considering my last post, I know. But it’s nearly midnight the night before I report to the MTC, and I’m still doing laundry. Anyways, Here’s a post I wrote while on the plane from the Dominican Republic to the United States.

After a couple of short months in the Dominican Republic, it’s time to return to the states. I’m writing this post from a flight from Santo Domingo to Newark, NJ. I had a great time in the DR, working at the embassy. I also had a great time travelling around the island, going to different beaches and resorts. So the reason I’m writing this is because I only have 12 days left until I report to the Missionary Training Center in Provo, and I’m headed to Salt Lake today! I hope I enjoy the next few days, but I’m not too worried, as Jake and Janae, Jessica, Teyan, Ethan and Quinn are coming for the Fourth of July. We’re going to the parade on Saturday, as well as having a barbeque and going to the Stadium of Fire, featuring Journey.

Anyways, this post is related to missionary work, because two weeks ago the MTC called me. A sister from Training told me that they had me marked for the advanced classes (of the three levels: beginner, intermediate, and advanced). She told me that she needed to interview me in spanish to confirm my skill level. With that, she was asking me (in Spanish) how my day went, what I had done the day before, and what my family was like. I answered her questions and she quickly told me she had all she needed. She told me she was going to keep me down for the advanced classes, warranting a stay shortened from six weeks to only two.

So I will only be in the MTC for two weeks, starting tomorrow. I should be in Canada by the 22nd(ish). I’ll come after some of my friends have entered and leave before them as well. I hope two weeks is enough time to prepare myself so that I don’t disappoint my trainer in the field too much.

Anyways, If you’d like to write me while I’m in the MTC, the easiest way is dearelder.com. They deliver letters daily, so I’ll get your mail much sooner than my weekly emails. It’s free, you just type it like an email and they print it and deliver it! So If you’d want to do that, my address is:

Elder Steven Cole Madsen
JUL22  CAN-WIN
2009 N 900 E Unit 172
Provo UT 84602

If you plan on doing this, you probably shouldn’t submit a letter past July 20th, as I may not receive it. Any mail after that should be directed to steven.madsen@myldsmail.net or

Elder Steven Cole Madsen
Canada Winnipeg Mission
845 Shaftesbury Blvd
Winnipeg, MB R3P 0M5
Canada

Leave a Reply

