the call arrived

So, it’s almost finals week for my second semester here at BYU Hawaii. I’m not sure how, but there’s a lull in the action, and something tells me times like these are going to be few and far between this summer, as I spend two weeks in Idaho, a few days in Washington, six weeks in the Dominican Republic working full time, and a week in Utah. So I decided to start my mission blog, as I probably wouldn’t get to it later.

On March 6, 2015, my mission call arrived. It only took twelve days for me to receive it from the time my papers were submitted. The whirlwind of emotions I experienced is indescribable, probably only understandable by those who’ve also received a mission call. It was a mix between anxiety, excitement, and anticipation…and maybe a little nervousness thrown in there too. Anyways, I had to wait an entire three hours, through a whole chemistry lecture, until I could open it. The reason for the unbearable wait was so that I could skype in my family so they could “be” there – you know, perks of going to college in Hawaii. All of us span across six time zones, with me being three hours behind my siblings, and six hours behind my parents. So, with my friends gathered around me, and my family being streamed in from a different state, a different country, and three different cities, I began:

Dear Elder Madsen:

You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. You are assigned to labor in the Canada Winnipeg Mission.

At this point I was in total shock. I was excited, relieved, and confused, among other things. I was going to CanadaWhat an adventure that would be. Of course, I assumed I would be speaking English or French, naturally. I mean, it is Canada. I continued reading, and I was wrong.

You should report to the Provo Missionary Training Center on Wednesday, July 8, 2015. You will prepare to preach the gospel in the Spanish language.

By the time I read that I would be speaking Spanish, I was bewildered. I didn’t even expect Canada, but now I was going to be speaking Spanish…in Canada. I sort of expected Spanish at first, but that went out the window when Winnipeg came up. It took me a few days to get over the surprise, and now I’m so glad that I get to practice a language I already know and love. I’ve been living in Latin countries and taking Spanish classes every year since I was six, so I can only hope to perfect the skills I have yet to obtain.

If you’d like, you can see the video of me opening my call here.

I might be posting a few more times before I leave, but don’t count on it. After I leave, I’ll trust the upkeep of this blog to someone in my family. Hopefully they stay on top of my weekly emails and pictures!

I also happened to go to the Laie temple grounds today, which was really nice and helped me find peace in the midst of the stress of dead week and finals week.

3 thoughts on “the call arrived

  1. So excited for you Cole! I remember being surprised when I was there what a melting pot Winnipeg was. I met people from so many countries who had incredible stories. You are going to be an awesome missionary!

    Like

  2. Hey Cole! We are so excited for you! My brother served in the Canada Toronto Mission…Spanish speaking!!! He LOVED it! Congrats!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

